composed of the commissioner, as chairman, with the deputy commissioner and three councillors as members. Each of the members is assigned portfolios by the chairman.

The territorial government forgoes its taxing authority on private and corporate incomes and collection of corporate taxes and succession duties in deference to annual federal-territorial financial agreements. Under these agreements the federal government contributes the funds necessary to cover the deficit arising from the forecast of revenues available to the territory and the forecast cost of services to be provided.

Administration. The territorial public service, comprising approximately 1,200 employees, has 12 conventional administrative departments and a number of special service departments. Whitehorse is the administrative centre of the government. A few departments have necessary regional postings and territorial agents represent the government in outlying communities.

Health services and land are administered jointly by the territorial and federal governments. Health services are administered and operated by a Yukon hospital and health care insurance services department in conjunction with the national health and welfare department. Health responsibility in the territory was to be transferred from federal to territorial control April 1, 1978.

Certain areas have been designated to the commissioner for administration under the territory's Lands Ordinance. The remaining land is under the jurisdiction of the Indian affairs and northern development department.

In addition to these shared responsibilities, the federal government, through the Indian affairs and northern development department, retains control of the natural resources of the Yukon Territory, except game. Local administration is carried out by federal public servants.

Legislature. The Yukon Act delineates the jurisdiction of the legislative council. It is like those of provincial assemblies with two exceptions: matters touching on natural resources, except legislation concerning the preservation of game, are reserved to the federal government, and budgetary matters are reserved to the commissioner. Council is called into session and prorogued by the commissioner.

Legislative authority for the Yukon Territory is vested in the Commissioner-in-Council. All bills must be approved by council and assented to by the commissioner before becoming law. As in other jurisdictions, the Governor-in-Council may disallow any ordinance within one year. Ordinances are printed on a sessional basis and consolidated annually.

Amendments to the Yukon Act passed by Parliament in 1974 provided for an immediate expansion of council membership from seven to 12 and for future expansion to 20. Redistribution and expansion for the 1978 territory-wide election was expected to result in 16 members. Members are elected for four years. The council nominates three members to an executive committee which administers the following portfolios: education, Yukon Housing Corporation, local government, highways and public works, health and human resources. A fourth elected member is expected to be appointed to the executive committee following the 1978 election.

The council meets at least twice a year usually in the territorial capital, Whitehorse.

Commissioner, council and council staff of the Yukon Territory in November 1977

Commissioner, A.M. Pearson Deputy Commissioner, D. Bell Clerk of Council, L.J. Adams Legal Adviser to the Commissioner and Council, P. O'Donoghue Executive Committee: A.M. Pearson, chairman; D. Bell, F. Whyard, D. Lang, J.K. McKinnon, members; L.J. Adams, secretary Members of Council: A. Berger, B. Fleming, J. Hibberd, D. Lang, E. Millard, S. McCall, W. Lengerke, D. Taylor, F. Whyard, G. McIntyre, J.K. McKinnon, H. Watson.

Northwest Territories

The Northwest Territories Act (RSC 1970, c.N-22) provides for an executive, legislative and judicial structure. The commissioner is the chief executive officer, appointed by the federal government and responsible for the administration of the Northwest Territories

3.3.2.2